The shortlist for the 2016 Offshore Achievement Awards, sponsored by TAQA, has been announced today 12 January, 2016.

With approximately 100 entries received this year, a record since the awards were re-launched in 2011 by the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Aberdeen Section. The line-up of finalists ranges from start-ups and specialist technology businesses, through to major service companies employing tens of thousands of people.

Alan Dick of SPE Aberdeen was part of the judging panel and is set to host the ceremony on 17 March. He said: ‘We have been hugely encouraged by the level of entries this year which demonstrates, despite a particularly challenging time for the oil and gas sector, there are still many success stories to be heard.

‘With design and innovation often highlighted as a key factor in maximising production and extending the life of the offshore industry, we were particularly pleased to see that the categories focused on technology drew particular interest.

‘The calibre of entries for this year’s awards has been exceptional and judging was not an easy task. I would like to congratulate all those who have been shortlisted for the 2016 awards, and look forward to finding out who the winners are in March.’

The 2015 ceremony saw more than 500 industry professionals in attendance and winners included Expro North Sea for Innovator, Delphian Ballistics for Emerging Technology and The Survitec Group for Safety Innovations.

The finalists for the 2016 Offshore Achievement Awards are:

Emerging Technology
Interventek Subsea Engineering
One Subsea
Well-SENSE Technology

Sea Energy
Step Change Engineering

Safety Innovations
Cape Industrial Services
Churchill Drilling Tools
Cyberhawk Innovations

Environmental Innovation
CETCO Energy Services

Export Achievement
Churchill Drilling Tools
Equalizer International

Paradigm Flow Services, STATS Group and Halliburton

Outstanding Skills Development Programme
3Sun Group
Aker Solutions
Caledonian Petroleum Services

Young Professional
Jason Fong, Coretrax
Hayleigh Pearson, Costain
Emily Taylor, Step Change in Safety

Above & Beyond
Callum Falconer, Decom North Sea
Andrew Lucas, Harris CapRock Communications
Allan Smillie, TAQA

Great Small Company
Aisus Offshore
Marine Technical Limits
Plant Integrity Management
Well-Centric Oilfield Services

Great Large Company
Amec Foster Wheeler

Significant Contribution
To be awarded to an individual, company or project on the night

The winners will be revealed at a black-tie dinner which takes place at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre on Thursday, 17 March. For more information or details on table bookings and sponsorship opportunities, please visit

Source link